Research Practice

In-Depth Fieldnotes – The “I Did My Hair But Want You to Think I Didn’t Try” Hairdo

My last two blog posts detail and expand on fieldnotes I took while observing at a bookstore. In Post #2, I wrote a scene based on my encounter with a drama teacher who loved The Wizard of Oz and the musical Wicked. In this post, I’d like to take an even closer look at Drama Teacher, focusing primarily on her hair.

I’ve heard hair that hair bounced. I’ve seen it in Pantene commercials, and when I’m looking in my mirror at home I can fluff up my hair after a good blow dry. But when I caught the attention of the woman next to me flipping through A Brief Guide to Oz, she turned her head and her hair bounced. It sprang up and then landed again at her shoulders, very gentle, like a dip in step during the waltz.

Her hair was a dirty blonde with highlights and lowlights. It created depth, like behind that initial layer of hair passages hid with twists and turns. The yellow-orange lights in the bookstore brought out the yellow of her hair. Her middle part was straight and pristine, something I have trouble accomplishing because I’m always running fingers through my hair. Her bangs hit just below the cheekbones on either side of her face and then swept back. If her face could be folded in the middle, each side of her bangs would meet up in striking symmetry. At her roots, her bangs rose before falling. They did not flop down lifeless against her cheeks.

She had big curls, estimated to be about an inch to an inch and a half in diameter. They looked like when she had first curled them they had been rigid, but then she had run her fingers through the curls to create a laid back, easygoing look. I know she created that appearance on purpose because I’ve done the same thing. Although she intentionally curled her hair (and probably fussed over how the curls fell around her face for quite some time) she wanted it to look like she didn’t try too hard to create the look. It’s like when a woman is complemented on her dress and she replies, “Oh, this old thing? I just threw it on!” There’s something appealing about an effortless appearance.

2 thoughts on “In-Depth Fieldnotes – The “I Did My Hair But Want You to Think I Didn’t Try” Hairdo

  1. Wonderful description. I especially love how you said her hair bounced “like a dip in step during the waltz.” Considering that the woman you’re describing is a drama teacher, using a dance reference seems particularly fitting. It adds some depth to the character.

  2. I remember this woman and you’ve captured her perfectly.

    I’ve always been amazed at how much effort goes into looking like no effort at all was taken. When I try that I end up either looking like a greaser, or looking like an Einstein wannabe.

Leave a comment